Concert October 24, 2015

Sunday, October 25, 2015, 3:00 PM

‘Concerts in a Country Church’



Music for Woodwind Quintet and Organ

Music of Gustav Holst, Bach, Ravel and Warlock

First of three concerts in the 2015-2016 Season

If strings are the ‘nouns’ of the orchestra and the brass are the ‘verbs’, then woodwinds are the adverbs and adjectives! In other words, they provide most of the color. Mixed metaphors aside, the “winds” as they are often called are used when a composer wishes to convey many human feelings, whether comic or tragic, and these instruments do so with tonal colorings that are pretty well unique to them.

A woodwind quintet is made up of flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn and bassoon (the French horn being a bit schizoid as it also appears in brass quintets). With music by Gustav Holst, Bach, Ravel and Warlock, five professional orchestral players will join the organ which will be playing a supplemental role in a particularly melodic and harmonically rich display of virtuosity by three fascinating twentieth century composers and the ubiquitous Bach (when the organist gets to have a bit more fun).

Woodwind Quintet and Organist

Craig Jaynes, Music Director, said, “Oboist Melissa Feilhauer played with us for the first Mass in the renovated building on Christmas Eve, 2010; we’ve been trying to arrange a return engagement ever since and this is the result.

This will be as fine a group of musicians as have ever played here and the music we will be doing together is unbelievably scrumptious! It’s going to be a very special treat indeed!”

COST OF A TICKET for general admission is $10.00 per person and $25 for season ticket.

The concert is held at Saint Colman Catholic Church. The church is located at 219 South North St., Washington Court House, OH. (two blocks north and one block east of the court house).

For contact information: or call: Craig Jaynes, 877-232-5731